Partners Buy now
Menu Icon Close Icon

What are the different styles of Sparkling Prosecco?

Exploring the different styles of sparkling Prosecco, akin to the varieties found in brands like Bella Principessa Prosecco and Signorina Prosecco, reveals a range of effervescence levels, sweetness profiles, and quality standards.

Effervescence Levels

Prosecco is categorized into three types based on effervescence:

  1. Spumante: This is the most common and fizziest style of Prosecco, fully sparkling. Known for its fruity taste, Spumante has a fine, long-lasting perlage and is produced under stricter standards.
  2. Frizzante: A semi-sparkling Prosecco, Frizzante has a lower carbonic acid content, leading to quickly dissipating bubbles. This type is somewhat more citrusy and a little sweeter compared to Spumante.
  3. Tranquillo: The least common, Tranquillo is a flat Prosecco with no bubbles and a deeper color. It’s rare outside of Italy​​.

Sweetness Scale

The sweetness of Prosecco varies across different levels:

  • Brut Nature: 0 – 3 g/l of residual sugar, bone dry.
  • Extra Brut: Up to 6 g/l of residual sugar, very dry.
  • Brut: 0 – 12 g/l of residual sugar, slightly acidic.
  • Extra Dry: 12 -17 g/l of residual sugar, mildly sweet.
  • Dry (Sec or Secco): 17 – 32 g/l of residual sugar, medium dry.
  • Semi-Secco (Demi-Sec): Up to 50 g/l residual sugar, quite sweet​​.

Quality Levels

Since 2009, Prosecco has been subject to quality standards:

  • DOC (Denominazione di Origine controllata): Prosecco from official growing areas in Friuli Venezia Giulia.
  • DOCG (Denominazione di Origine Controllata e Garantita): The highest quality level for Prosecco, reserved for products from Asolo, Valdobbiadene, and Conegliano​.